How can I watch?

Every match of the tournament is shown live by Sky Sports.

What is the format of the tournament?

The first leg of the T20 World Cup includes the eight teams that were supposed to qualify: Namibia, Sri Lanka, United Arab Emirates and Netherlands in Group A, followed by Ireland, Scotland, Zimbabwe and West Indies in Group B.

Essentially, forming the preliminary stage, the winner and winners from each group advance to the next group stage, joining teams that have already qualified. Australia, Afghanistan, England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka (winner of Group A) and runners-up in Group B will therefore be in Group 1, while Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, South Africa and Ireland (winner of Group B) and the Netherlands ( group B) Second place) makes up group 2.

After the head-to-head group matches, the top two from each group of the Super 12 stage advance to the knockout stage, which includes a semi-final and a final, the latter on 13 November.

T20 World Cup Tables

After completing the preliminary stages, these are the teams that have reached the Super 12 stage.

Group 1: Afghanistan, Australia, England, New Zealand, Ireland, Sri Lanka

Group 2: Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, South Africa, Netherlands, Zimbabwe

Who is in the England squad?

Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingston, David Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Tymal Mills, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, Alex Hales.

Players on standby: Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson.

What is the latest news in England?

The first thing to say is that if England win their remaining three games in the group, they go through. They would have four wins, and no other team would be able to reach that mark in such a scenario. They would even top the group because New Zealand’s elimination today means they have already dropped a point.

If no extra motivation was needed, a loss to England would leave Australia in all sorts of trouble. They will need a huge swing in net run rate (NRR) to get through.

What if they lose?

There is still a lot of cricket so England can lose to Australia and qualify. But it needs results, starting with big wins over New Zealand and Sri Lanka. That would take them to six points (a tally that can’t be bettered by either NZ or SL as they still have to play each other).

Australia will still be able to reach the last eight and qualify, so dropping points against Ireland or Afghanistan will be very helpful. Ireland itself is still struggling, but its net performance is almost as bad as Australia’s.

The elephant in the room is of course the awful Australian weather…

What is expected of England?

They entered last year’s tournament as favourites, before losing to New Zealand in the semi-finals, and have enough firepower to go all the way. Their mettle was tested in Pakistan, they came back from 3-2 down to win the series 4-3, and were forced out of their comfort zone by losing the toss in all three matches against Australia, setting the totals in the first two and were on the verge of victory in the third before rain saved Australia’s skin.

Teething problems this summer under new coach Matthew Mott have been banished and, even without the injured Jonny Bairstow, confidence is high that England can achieve the Holy Grail of being world champions in both white-ball formats at the same time. Their recent form has dented their chances considerably as Jasprit Bumrah’s injury forced India to drop to third place on the bookmakers’ board.

What are the last odds?

  • India 5/2
  • England 11/4
  • New Zealand 9/2
  • Australia 11/2
  • South Africa 8/1
  • Pakistan 9/1

The information is accurate as of October 24