The new Prime Minister Rishi Sunak started work on appointing his new cabinet this afternoon.

So far, it is known that about eleven cabinet ministers are leaving their posts. This is more than previously expected, making this a very significant government reshuffle in relative terms.

The departure of so many cabinet ministers has given Mr Sunak the opportunity to build a better team in his image. In doing so, he appointed Dominic Raab as justice minister and deputy prime minister, the same role he held under Boris Johnson.

Jeremy Hunt will remain as Chancellor of the Exchequer.

Outgoing cabinet ministers include former business secretary Jacob Rees Mogg; Conservative Party Chairman Sir Jake Berry; and Education Secretary Keith Malthouse. All three were known for their closeness to former Prime Minister Boris Johnson.

Promotions Secretary Simon Clarke has also resigned. Mr Clarke previously served as Mr Sunak’s deputy at the Treasury during the Covid pandemic, but was quick to back Liz Truss in the summer Conservative leadership race.

The largely unknown Environment Minister Ranil Jayawardene, another Johnson supporter who was appointed by Mr Johnson in the summer, also resigned from the government.

Two of Liz Truss’s closest allies, Work and Pensions Secretary Chloe Smith and Chief Executive Wendy Morton, are leaving cabinet.

Brandon Lewis, who has had a steady career at the top of the Conservative party, previously serving as Conservative party leader under Theresa May, has also resigned. Alok Sharma will retain his role as president of COP26, but will not participate in the cabinet for now.

International Development Minister Vicky Ford, who was part of the cabinet, also tweeted that she was leaving the government.

Finally, Welsh Minister Robert Buckland is said to be stepping down of his own accord. Mr Buckland was seen as a likely casualty of any Sunak reshuffle, given how he switched from Mr Sunak’s team to Liz Truss’ during the summer’s Conservative leadership contest.

As with all government reshuffles, the matter of sacking ministers is an activity that takes place at first and behind closed doors.

Mr Sunak’s newly appointed cabinet ministers are likely to be seen in Downing Street later in the afternoon. Former cabinet ministers and Sunak loyalists Dominic Raab, Oliver Dowden and Mel Stride are all likely to return to the top of the government.

14 Cabinet ministers go, as Sunak puts his own team in place