Dan Sheehan is Leinster’s top scorer in the Rugby Championship this season with six
Leinster (7) 27
Trying to: Penny, Sheehan, McGrath, Russell Cons: Sexton 2 Handles: Sexton
Munster (6) 13
Trying to: L Coombes Cons: Handles: Carberry 2

Leinster continued their unbeaten start to the Rugby United Championship season with a hard-fought bonus-point win over rivals Munster at the Aviva Stadium.

Scott Penny’s try gave Leinster a 7-6 lead at the break.

Liam Coombs scored early in the second half for Munster but tries from Dan Sheehan, Luke McGrath and Rob Russell sealed the bonus point for Leinster.

While Leinster extend their lead at the top of the table, this is Munster’s fourth defeat of the season.

Leinster were dealt a major blow before kick-off when Tadhg Furlong, who was due to start the game, was ruled out, replaced by Michael Ala’alatoa and Tom Clarkson dropped to the bench.

Despite the setback, Leinster started the brighter of the two sides, but Munster eventually took the lead midway through the first half through a well-struck Joey Carbery penalty.

Leinster continued to threaten the Munster line and were finally rewarded when Penny tipped over from close range after Keinan Knox was sent to the sin-bin for a forearm clearance from James Ryan.

Gene Klein joined Knox in the bin late in the first half when he knocked out Jamie Osborne on a try.

Coombs’ kin linked up with a brilliant Munster try early in the second half when Gavin Coombs sent cousin Liam over in the corner.

However, Sheehan immediately responded for Leinster with a sharp kick and Sexton restored Leinster’s lead at 14-13.

Injury-hit Munster suffered another loss as Carbery was forced off the field to join the likes of Tadhg Beirne, Peter O’Mahony, Keith Earls and Andrew Conway on the touchline.

Man of the match McGrath, heavily involved in Sheehan’s try, then grabbed a score of his own as he slid over to complete an impressive display.

Substitute Russell grabbed a vital try for the bonus point with a couple of minutes remaining as Leinster made it six wins from six.

Leinster: Frawley; O’Brien, Ringrose, Henshaw, Osborne; Sexton (capt), McGrath; Healy, Sheehan, Ala’alatoa, Jenkins, Ryan; Deegan, Penny, Doris.

Replacements: Mackie, Porter, Clarkson, Maloney, Conan, McCarthy, Byrne, Russell.

Munster: Crowley; Daly, Goggin, R. Scannell, L. Coombs; Carbery, Murray; Loughman, Barron, Knox, Klein, Ahern; O’Donoghue (capt), Hodnett, G Coombes.

Replacements: Buckley, Kilcoyne, French, O’Sullivan, Quinn, Patterson, Healy, Campbell.

Judge: Andrey Brace

TMO: Marius Jonker